Stay Up To Date

Close
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Why an Extraordinary Session?

It is clear that necessary and dramatic action needs to be taken in order to provide a legislative check on Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham’s excessive emergency power during COVID 19. The citizens of New Mexico demand it. Their lives and livelihood require it.

As legislators we believe the Governor’s actions and authority must be reined in to provide relief to our citizens who are desperate, angry, and suffering.

We believe that the best way to help the people of New Mexico AND to avoid civil unrest is to hold an Extraordinary Session of the New Mexico legislature.

This session has a single goal:

To pass legislation limiting the Governor's emergency powers.

Our desire is to save New Mexico from the Governor’s autocratic power, manifested by emergency proclamations and edicts which overstep the bounds of the state constitution.

We respectfully request of our colleagues that a 3/5ths Super Majority join in calling for an EXTRAORDINARY SESSION, as provided by the New Mexico Constitution.

It is our hope that support for this Extraordinary Session will be bi-partisan. Legislators on both sides of the aisle know that this has gone too far, and that more moderate and sober-minded decision-making is needed.

It is the constitutional duty of the legislature to check the Executive Branch when it goes too far. It is long past time to check the powers of Governor Grisham, and the time to act is now. We hope that every legislator in New Mexico, of any party, will join our efforts.

We, the undersigned, pledge to call for an Extraordinary Session of the New Mexico Legislature to limit the Governor's emergency powers:

(In order for an Emergency Session to be called, 42 Representatives and 26 Senators must agree to meet. If you're not sure who your legislator is, click here to find your legislator.)

If you are a legislator and would like to add your name to this pledge, please email us from your legislative email address at info@nmextraordinarysession.com

House Members who have Signed on

Representative
Rod Montoya
District
1
San Juan
Representative
James R.J. Strickler
District
2
San Juan
Representative
Paul C. Bandy
District
3
San Juan
Representative
Kelly K. Fajardo
District
7
Valencia
Representative
Alonzo Baldonado
District
8
Valencia
Representative
Gregg Schmedes
District
22
Bernalillo, Sandoval, Santa Fe
Representative
William "Bill" R. Rehm
District
31
Bernalillo
Representative
Rebecca Dow
District
38
Grant, Hidalgo, Sierra
Representative
Jane E. Powdrell-Culbert
District
44
Sandoval
Representative
Rachel A. Black
District
51
Otero
Representative
James G. Townsend
District
54
Chaves, Eddy, Otero
Representative
Cathrynn N. Brown
District
55
Eddy
Representative
Zachary J. Cook
District
56
Lincoln, Otero
Representative
Jason C. Harper
District
57
Sandoval
Representative
Candy Spence Ezzell
District
58
Chaves
Representative
Greg Nibert
District
59
Chaves, Lincoln
Representative
Tim D. Lewis
District
60
Sandoval
Representative
David M. Gallegos
District
61
Lea
Representative
Martin R. Zamora
District
63
Curry, DeBaca, Guadalupe, Roosevelt, San Miguel
Representative
Randal S. Crowder
District
64
Curry
Representative
Phelps Anderson
District
66
Chaves, Lea, Roosevelt
Representative
Jack Chatfield
District
67
Colfax, Curry, Harding, Quay, Roosevelt, San Miguel, Union

Senators who have Signed on

Senator
William E. Sharer
District
1
San Juan
Senator
Steven P. Neville
District
2
San Juan
Senator
Pat Woods
District
7
Curry, Quay, Union
Senator
Mark Moores
District
21
Bernalillo
Senator
Gregory A. Baca
District
29
Bernalillo, Valencia
Senator
Cliff R. Pirtle
District
32
Chaves, Eddy, Otero
Senator
Craig W. Brandt
District
40
Sandoval

House Members who have NOT Signed on

Representative
Anthony Allison
District
4
San Juan
anthony.allison@nmlegis.gov(505) 787-8494
Representative
D. Wonda Johnson
District
5
McKinley, San Juan
dwonda.johnson@nmlegis.gov
Representative
Eliseo Lee Alcon
District
6
Cibola, McKinley
eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov(505) 285-6387
Representative
Patricia A. Lundstrom
District
9
McKinley, San Juan
patricia.lundstrom@nmlegis.gov(505) 722-2980
Representative
G. Andrés Romero
District
10
Bernalillo
andres.romero@nmlegis.gov(505) 514-9574
Representative
Javier Martínez
District
11
Bernalillo
javier.martinez@nmlegis.gov(505) 289-3939
Representative
Patricio Ruiloba
District
12
Bernalillo
patricio.ruiloba@nmlegis.gov(505) 417-1749
Representative
Patricia Roybal Caballero
District
13
Bernalillo
pat.roybalcaballero@nmlegis.gov
Representative
Miguel P. Garcia
District
14
Bernalillo
miguel.garcia@nmlegis.gov(505) 877-8131
Representative
Dayan Hochman-Vigil
District
15
Bernalillo
dayan.hochman-vigil@nmlegis.gov(505) 948-2320
Representative
Antonio Maestas
District
16
Bernalillo
antonio.maestas@nmlegis.gov(505) 304-7497
Representative
Deborah A. Armstrong
District
17
Bernalillo
deborah.armstrong@nmlegis.gov
Representative
Gail Chasey
District
18
Bernalillo
gail@gailchasey.com(505) 246-2221
Representative
Sheryl Williams Stapleton
District
19
Bernalillo
sheryl.stapleton@nmlegis.gov(505) 265-6089
Representative
Abbas Akhil
District
20
Bernalillo
abbas.akhil@nmlegis.gov(505) 280-0997
Representative
Debra M. Sariñana
District
21
Bernalillo
debbie.sarinana@nmlegis.gov(505) 559-2200
Representative
Daymon Ely
District
23
Bernalillo, Sandoval
daymon.ely@nmlegis.gov(505) 248-0370
Representative
Elizabeth "Liz" Thomson
District
24
Bernalillo
liz.thomson@nmlegis.gov(505) 239-1781
Representative
Christine Trujillo
District
25
Bernalillo
christine.trujillo@nmlegis.gov(505) 235-8783
Representative
Georgene Louis
District
26
Bernalillo
georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov(505) 250-7932
Representative
Marian Matthews
District
27
Bernalillo
marian.matthews@nmlegis.gov
Representative
Melanie A. Stansbury
District
28
Bernalillo
melanie.stansbury@nmlegis.gov(505) 750-7079
Representative
Joy Garratt
District
29
Bernalillo
joy.garratt@nmlegis.gov(505) 977-5039
Representative
Natalie Figueroa
District
30
Bernalillo
natalie.figueroa@nmlegis.gov(505) 514-4758
Representative
Candie G. Sweetser
District
32
Grant, Hidalgo, Luna
candie.sweetser@nmlegis.gov(575) 546-9011
Representative
Micaela Lara Cadena
District
33
Doña Ana
micaela.cadena@nmlegis.gov
Representative
Raymundo Lara
District
34
Doña Ana
raymundo.lara@nmlegis.gov(575) 201-3232
Representative
Angelica Rubio
District
35
Doña Ana
angelica.rubio@nmlegis.gov(575) 616-1090
Representative
Nathan P. Small
District
36
Doña Ana
nathan.small@nmlegis.gov(575) 496-9540
Representative
Joanne J. Ferrary
District
37
Doña Ana
joanne.ferrary@nmlegis.gov(575) 649-1231
Representative
Rodolpho "Rudy" S. Martinez
District
39
Doña Ana, Grant, Sierra
rodolpho.martinez@nmlegis.gov(575) 534-7546
Representative
Joseph L. Sanchez
District
40
Colfax, Mora, Rio Arriba, San Miguel
joseph.sanchez@nmlegis.gov
Representative
Susan K. Herrera
District
41
Rio Arriba, Santa Fe, Taos
susan.herrera@nmlegis.gov(505) 579-0092
Representative
Daniel R. Barrone
District
42
Taos
daniel.barrone@nmlegis.gov(575) 758-1506
Representative
Christine Chandler
District
43
Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, Santa Fe
christine.chandler@nmlegis.gov(505) 695-2646
Representative
Jim R. Trujillo
District
45
Santa Fe
jimtrujillo@msn.com(505) 438-8890
Representative
Andrea Romero
District
46
Santa Fe
andrea@andrearomero.com(505) 490-6155
Representative
Brian Egolf
District
47
Santa Fe
brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov(505) 986-4782
Representative
Tara L. Lujan
District
48
Santa Fe
tara.lujan@nmlegis.gov
Representative
Gail Armstrong
District
49
Catron, Socorro, Valencia
gail@gailfornewmexico.com(505) 269-2364
Representative
Matthew McQueen
District
50
Bernalillo, Santa Fe, Torrance, Valencia
matthew.mcqueen@nmlegis.gov
Representative
Doreen Y. Gallegos
District
52
Doña Ana
doreen.gallegos@nmlegis.gov(575) 649-6325
Representative
Willie D. Madrid
District
53
Doña Ana, Otero
willie.madrid@nmlegis.gov(915) 204-9056
Representative
Larry R. Scott
District
62
Lea
larry.scott@nmlegis.gov(575) 392-5960
Representative
Derrick J. Lente
District
65
Rio Arriba, Sandoval, San Juan
derrick.lente@nmlegis.gov(505) 507-3063
Representative
Karen C. Bash
District
68
Bernalillo
karen.bash@nmlegis.gov(505) 238-2117
Representative
Harry Garcia
District
69
Bernalillo, Cibola, McKinley, Socorro, San Juan, Valencia
hgarciad69@gmail.com(505) 290-7510
Representative
Tomás E. Salazar
District
70
San Miguel, Santa Fe, Torrance
tomas.salazar@nmlegis.gov(575) 421-2455

Senators who have NOT Signed on

Senator
Shannon D. Pinto
District
3
McKinley, San Juan
shannon.pinto@nmlegis.gov
Senator
George K. Munoz
District
4
Cibola, McKinley, San Juan
senatormunoz@gmail.com(505) 722-6570
Senator
Richard C. Martinez
District
5
Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, Santa Fe
richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov(505) 747-2337
Senator
Roberto "Bobby" J. Gonzales
District
6
Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Santa Fe, Taos
roberto.gonzales@nmlegis.gov(575) 758-2674
Senator
Pete Campos
District
8
Colfax, Guadalupe, Harding, Mora, Quay, San Miguel, and Taos
pete.campos@nmlegis.gov(505) 425-0508
Senator
John M. Sapien
District
9
Bernalillo, Sandoval
john.sapien@nmlegis.gov(505) 765-5662
Senator
Candace Gould
District
10
Bernalillo, Sandoval
candace.gould@nmlegis.gov(505) 269-7711
Senator
Linda M. Lopez
District
11
Bernalillo
linda.lopez@nmlegis.gov(505) 831-4148
Senator
Gerald Ortiz y Pino
District
12
Bernalillo
jortizyp@msn.com(505) 243-1509
Senator
Bill B. O'Neill
District
13
Bernalillo
oneillsd13@billoneillfornm.com(505) 450-9263
Senator
Michael Padilla
District
14
Bernalillo
michael.padilla@nmlegis.gov(505) 977-6247
Senator
Daniel A. Ivey-Soto
District
15
Bernalillo
daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov(505) 881-4475
Senator
Antoinette Sedillo Lopez
District
16
Bernalillo
a.sedillolopez@nmlegis.gov
Senator
Mimi Stewart
District
17
Bernalillo
mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov(505) 275-2355
Senator
Bill Tallman
District
18
Bernalillo
bill.tallman@nmlegis.gov(505) 702-6828
Senator
James P. White
District
19
Bernalillo, Sandoval, Santa Fe, Torrance
james.white@nmlegis.gov(505) 271-4746
Senator
William H. Payne
District
20
Bernalillo
william.payne@nmlegis.gov(505) 986-4702
Senator
Benny Shendo, Jr.
District
22
Bernalillo, McKinnley, Rio Arriba, San Juan, Sandoval
benny.shendo@nmlegis.gov(575) 834-7359
Senator
Sander Rue
District
23
Bernalillo
sander.rue@nmlegis.gov(505) 301-0189
Senator
Nancy Rodriguez
District
24
Santa Fe
nancy.rodriguez@nmlegis.gov(505) 983-8913
Senator
Peter Wirth
District
25
Santa Fe
peter.wirth@nmlegis.gov(505) 986-4727
Senator
Jacob R. Candelaria
District
26
Bernalillo
jacob.candelaria@nmlegis.gov(505) 847-5079
Senator
Stuart Ingle
District
27
Chaves, Curry, De Baca, Lea, Roosevelt
stuart.ingle@nmlegis.gov(575) 356-3088
Senator
Gabriel Ramos
District
28
Catron, Grant, Socorro
gabriel.ramos@nmlegis.gov(575) 388-1969
Senator
Clemente "Memé" Sanchez
District
30
Cibola, Socorro, McKinley, Valencia
clemente.sanchez@nmlegis.gov(505) 287-2515
Senator
Joseph Cervantes
District
31
Doña Ana
Joseph@cervanteslawnm.com(575) 526-5600
Senator
William F. Burt
District
33
Chaves, Lincoln, Otero
bill.burt@nmlegis.gov(575) 434-1414
Senator
Ron Griggs
District
34
Doña Ana, Eddy, Otero
ron.griggs@nmlegis.gov(575) 439-1331
Senator
John Arthur Smith
District
35
Doña Ana, Hidalgo, Luna, Sierra
john.smith@nmlegis.gov(575) 546-4979
Senator
Jeff Steinborn
District
36
Doña Ana
jeff.steinborn@nmlegis.gov
Senator
William P. Soules
District
37
Doña Ana
bill.soules@nmlegis.gov(575) 640-0409
Senator
Mary Kay Papen
District
38
Doña Ana
marykay.papen@nmlegis.gov(575) 524-4462
Senator
Elizabeth "Liz" Stefanics
District
39
Bernalillo, Linc, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Torrance, Valencia
liz.stefanics@nmlegis.gov(505) 699-4808
Senator
Gregg Fulfer
District
41
Eddy, Lea
gregg.fulfer@nmlegis.gov(575) 631-9699
Senator
Gay G. Kernan
District
42
Chaves, Eddy, Lea
gay.kernan@nmlegis.gov(505) 629-8081

If you are a legislator and would like to add your name to this pledge, please email us from your legislative email address at info@nmextraordinarysession.com